Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Thoughts about dinner

I’m making this for dinner.

Sort of.

I don’t have chicken, sweet potatoes, or coconut milk. So I’m using turkey cutlets, red potatoes, and just making regular rice. I’m also adding carrots just because I like them, and I’ll probably throw in some peas at the last minute. You guessed it, because I like them. So really, it’s almost an entirely different recipe, but I have both the kids today and Sam’s down for a nap. It can cook in the crockpot while I keep two kids entertained. I haven’t had time to go to the store today for just a few things, and it’s kind of nightmare to take both of them anyway, according to my dear husband who took them to the grocery last weekend.

You might be asking yourself – gee, will a 7 year old and a 2 year old eat Chicken Turkey Curry with Sweet Potatoes and Coconut Rice?

The answer is almost certainly an emphatic no.

But they don’t eat much of anything I cook these days, so I can’t be worrying about that, now can I? I’ve decided to fix what I want to eat today. They’ll eat something, probably some leftovers. Sam can always be counted on to eat cheese crackers. I think he’d live on those if I’d let him.

Oh, and before the peanut gallery has the chance to comment on that last paragraph, I’m an excellent cook – it’s not because the food is no good! Lauren’s getting a lot more picky, and Sam has always been picky. That boy hardly eats at all; I don’t know why he grows.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Thoughts about dinner

  1. I always loving sticking really close to a recipe–at least within 4 or 5 ingredients. It reminds me of the rather thick statement that used to go around–probably a reject from Hee Haw. One codger looks at another one and says, “If we had ham, we could have ham and eggs, if we had eggs.”

    I’ve been having “I know, let’s try to clean up and optimize the computer day,” at least until the Funny Farm express comes to deliver its precious cargo south.

  2. I will make the original, though. The sweet potatoes sound good, as does the coconut rice. I’d still add peas. I love peas in a curry.

    Hope your computer is all shiny and optimized by now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

