Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Traveling is F.U.N.

Actually, it wasn’t that bad. The kids were great in the van, and it helped that we borrowed my parents’ vehicle so that we weren’t all squished in. And there were movies to watch. But they were really great.

It was really a pleasant trip right up until we hit Chicago. See, we got to Gary, IN, and the kids were starting to get hungry. But there was really nowhere to stop for supper that we saw – very industrial. Then we hit Chicago. At rush hour. In the rain. With hungry and tired children.

And sat for 3 hours.

Yeah, that really wasn’t the best part of the trip.

We finally got to the hotel a little after 9 (EDT, what our bodies were used to). Fortunately, I had brought snacks and drinks in the van, so the kids weren’t totally starving. We ordered pizza, Sam went on to bed. Called my folks to let them know we arrived safely. The dog, apparently, misses us and is moping around a little and staring at the door. But she’s eating and drinking, so she’s ok. The cat is probably glad to have some peace and quiet at the house.

Now, they’re all still asleep, and I’m up. I have a splitting headache, but I didn’t pack any OTC meds. I’ve gotten coffee from the lobby, so I’m caffeinated, at least. I might wander down to see if they have any advil type stuff down there. Plus, I need more coffee.

I have no idea what we’re going to do today. That feels like a vacation to me!

I may check in later, or I may not. So there!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Traveling is F.U.N.

  1. fjayr on said:

    I forgot to teach you the traveler’s prayer before you left:
    “For what we are about to receive, oh Lord, make us truly grateful.” Sounds like you got a pretty full load. Good luck the rest of the week.

  2. Ah, I see that you have found “my” Nashville …

    I recall, back in 1985, the complete lack of, well, ANYTHING between Gary, IN and Chicago, IL … not a whole lot in the way of eateries. I guess some things don’t change.

    (That little bit of data came a from a blog entry that I wrote, posted, and then completely deleted entirely by accident, and never quite got back around to rewriting.)

  3. NOW you tell me!

