Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Darn it all

I just checked Sam’s email account, because he had a new message a couple of weeks ago that I hadn’t gotten around to reading. Yes, at this point the kids don’t even know their passwords, parental control and all that. They don’t need it, really, it just makes it easier to keep things organized for me. Besides, as you can imagine, The Boy doesn’t get a whole lot of email.

But this email actually mattered. It was notifying him/me that Zude (where I have the kids start pages, with all their stuff – links and games and such) is closing down their beta and moving into a new development phase focusing on enterprise users. This is as of September 30th.

Guess I’ve got some work to do to move all those links and stuff to new start pages for the kids, don’t I? At least there’s plenty of notice. Of course, this would happen at my very busiest time of the year work-wise. Isn’t that always the way?

Maybe ZCubes? Netvibes, which I love, but it’s not very “pretty” for the kids. Pageflakes? I don’t know, I’ll have to hunt down some options. Alternatively, I could just pay for a domain and hosting and do it my own damn self, knowing it won’t disappear on me. Here’s a question for the hub, since he dealt with the cable company to get high speed set up – does our internet service provide any webspace to customers? I think the old plan in the real town did, but we didn’t need it then. Don’t know about here, and I certainly have my doubts.

If not, I might just pay actual money to have the space to put their links. Lastname.com, maybe. Have to check to see if it’s available.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

