Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Hi, my name is Jill, and this is my place

I know, I know.  I haven’t posted anything substantive here in ages and ages, seems like.  But here’s the thing.  For the past month, I’ve had a severe bout of sciatica.  Then a migraine hit.

In other words, I’ve been kind of a whiny bitch lately.  I truly don’t handle life very productively when I don’t feel well.  It’s like there’s only so much of me to go around anyway, and feeling unwell takes about 50% of it.  Then the kids take another 75%, and work takes a good bit, maybe 40%, and the house, and the PTA, and let’s not forget my dear and mostly patient husband. 

Yes, that adds up to way, way more than 100%.  Deal.  And, by the way, welcome to my world.  On a really good day, there’s not nearly enough of me to go around.  On a bad day?  I’m hanging on by my fingernails.  Something had to give, recently, and it turned out to be the blog.  Sorry.

But I was helped by the winding up of a stressful period at work, and then a nice relaxing visit with Carol Ann last weekend.  I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving with the family.  And Christmas, although stressful in the best of times, should be less so this year.  We’re scaling back with the extended family and with our own kids, so it’s less pressure.

Also, Lauren gave up on Santa a bit ago, so there’s not that to manage this year.  It’s sad for me, because she’s so young really, but on the plus side she’s really excited to help perpetuate the spirit of the season for Sam.  She’s such an awesome big sis; I can’t even really explain what it’s like to see the two of them together.

If you have two or more kids who get along well (most of the time, anyway!), you will understand.  I cried when Sam was born, because she was so very excited.  See, Lauren got to hold him first, before the grandmothers even, and for as long as she wanted.  She needed some time to think about this new person in our family.  The look on her face . . .

DCP_3392

And now he’s three.  She’s not 5 any more, she’s 8.  How young she looks in this picture.  Anyway, more later, I hope.  I expect I’ll have more actual real news about the fam over the holidays.  One hopes, anyway.  Keep that rss feed going!  Or, you know, friend me on Facebook.  That works too.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Hi, my name is Jill, and this is my place

  1. Hi, Jill v2.0! Nice to meet ya!

  2. Oh, and that pic … it’s the most GENUINE image that I have seen in a long time … after spending all day photoschlopping and mucking about in imagery, it is nice to see something so vividly REAL …

