Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Our to-do list for turkey day

First of all, you should know that we have our Thanksgiving on Friday, not Thursday.  I know, weird.  But several years ago, it got really tiresome to schedule when several folks had to be at 2 or 3 different Thanksgivings on that day.  It was hard to find the time to fit it in, and it sort of felt like our family was getting short shrift.

This isn’t particularly true for my own family, because Mark’s sis lives in New Orleans, and his mom usually goes down there for Thanksgiving, so we didn’t have that issue.  But my brother and his wife were “expected” at three different events that day, and my cousins had to visit their in-laws too.  You know how it is – if you don’t eat a lot at each place, someone gets offended.

So we moved ours to Friday.  Works great.  Mark and I usually try for an “anti” Thanksgiving on Thursday – pizza or something like that.  Our list of dishes to take on Friday keeps growing this year, and it’s our own damned fault.  We keep thinking of things we want to bring.  So for this year:

  • Pumpkin Pie – courtesy of Mark, and damned tasty – wish I knew where to find the link
  • Cardamom-Buttermilk Pie – this one is mine, also yummy
  • Aunt Molly’s Spinach Casserole – it’s just not the holidays without it, and I’ve made it ever since the year she died – I was a teenager (I think, can’t really remember)
  • Brussels Sprouts Salad – just because we love it so.  It’s soooooooo good

We reserve the right to add something else too, but don’t have anything else in particular planned at this point.  It started out as one pie and the spinach . . .

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

