Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

What’s in the crock pot today?

Because I know you were just dying to know!

This site, A Year of Crockpotting, has been inspiring me lately.  I’ve never had all that much luck with cooking in the crock pot.  Most everything seems to come out kind of mushy and it all tastes somehow similar.  But I’ve had really good luck with these recipes so far.  And I would love to use the crock pot more, especially in cooler weather.  It’s so nice to have a big chunk of dinner (or the whole dinner) done by the time we get home.

I think I found the recipe that’s cooking right now as a link from this blog, can’t remember now.  It was in my recipe list anyway.  Smokehouse chicken.  Yummy!!  And because I’m just that way, I brined it first, using this recipe

I’m betting the house will smell marvelous by this evening.

Now I just need to figure out some side dishes to go with smoked chicken . . .

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “What’s in the crock pot today?

  1. Rice for the side dish! ust make a simple rice side with chicken broth, toasted almonds and green onions. Yum!

  2. Ahh, we had just had basmati rice with vegetable curry the night before, so I went with mashed potato casserole and carrot souffle for the sides. It was all really tasty. I even made a gingerbread for dessert (a rare treat in our house).

    Now I’m full.

  3. i made crockpot bbq beef brisket for thanksgiving. insanely good and so easy.

