Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Looking back, and looking forward

On July 28, 2004, I said this:

OK, I’ve been watching the Democratic Convention coverage on C-Span for the last couple of nights. Unless you’re new here, you already know that I’m a proud liberal and democrat. But at times over the last decade or so, that almost seems like something to be ashamed of – liberal is a dirty word, you know. So events like the convention help me remember that I’m not alone in the way I view the world. Last night, I really wanted to see Ron Reagan, Teresa Heinz Kerry, and Barack Obama. I kept hearing about Obama, and I wanted to see for myself.

Oh. My. God.

I literally got cold chills listening to his speech. I thought to myself: “He will be President someday, and I’m looking forward to it.”

And tomorrow, he will be President.

Here’s that speech:

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

