Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

That funny boy

I’ve been meaning to post this story all day, and I’ve been busier than hell all day long, so I haven’t had the chance.

But this morning, on the way to day care after dropping L off at school, we were listening to a song called “When I Grow Up” by the Asylum Street Spankers.  Sam liked the tune, and was singing that line happily.  So I turned off the music, and asked him what he wants to be when he grows up.

He paused for a second, then said “I’m going to be a FIREMAN!!!  I’m going to be big like Daddy!”

Because I’m a mean mommy, and also because I saw an opening, I told him that if he wants to be a fireman, then he’ll have to be big and strong so that he can help people, and the way to do that is to eat good healthy foods like fruits and vegetables. 

Because, you know, The Boy never met a vegetable he’d willingly eat, except for french fries.

And then he said “Then I’ll be a leeeetle fireman, and I’ll push the button to make the siren go!”

Curses.

Foiled again.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “That funny boy

  1. You coulda said “But it’s a really BIG and HEAVY button, and so you’ll have to be big and strong in order to push it, and …”

    Funny story. Your kids continue to be a source of entertainment …

  2. Oh, you should live with them. They’re hilarious, I just occasionally remember/have time to write something down.

    And I would have come back with something to Sam, but I was busy trying not to run off the road, I was laughing so hard . . .

