Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

It was not my fault

It really wasn’t.

See, it all started with my office roomie mentioning the great dessert he had yesterday. Gingerbread bread pudding.

It took me quite a while to pick myself up after that. WHY have I never put those words together before???

To the Google!

I found a recipe that I adapted slightly. Another egg, a bit more half and half, since I ran out of cream . . .

Yes, it’s another recipe with a box mix. I am losing my cred right now, I can feel it. But sue me. It’s a weeknight.

This was the perfect dessert to have after Mark’s delicious gumbo tonight. His sis arrived safely from New Orleans this afternoon, so we wanted to give her a taste of home. Deeelish.

I did not have vanilla ice cream, nor enough time to make any. I briefly thought about making a vanilla caramel sauce to go on top. Then I remembered that I had some leftover eggnog/cream cheese filling from cookies I made the other day. I knew I’d come up with a use for that stuff! I warmed it on the stove over low heat, and added more eggnog, some fresh nutmeg, and a little wondra flour to thicken it up. Oh my. Let’s see if pictures can do it justice.

20111221-202340.jpg

20111221-202349.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

