Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

A day off to bake

20120110-180747.jpg

See, it all started this morning. I decided I just didn’t feel like going to work today. I wanted to relax and bake instead.

At first, I was planning to make chocolate chip cookies, Sam’s favorite cookie, and my very favorite CC cookie recipe. Easy, quick, and delicious. Since the chocolate flavor is really predominant, I tend to use the good chocolate, not just store brand chocolate chips. My kids prefer dark chocolate over milk chocolate, so i use a 62%. I’m telling you, you just canNOT go wrong with a Smitten Kitchen recipe. I got a new Scharffen Berger order from an Amazon sale yesterday, and I wanted to try out the new variety of chocolate. Win win all around!

Then Lauren asked if I would make oatmeal raisin instead. She said that I always make chocolate chip cookies. I beg to differ, but that’s what she asked for, so I figured I’d just make both!

I also only baked a few of them today. The rest of the formed dough was flash frozen on parchment-lined sheet pans. Once they were frozen, I put them in freezer bags, and wrote the contents and baking instructions on the bags. That way, I can just bake them a few at a time when the kids want a little something sweet. They can be baked from frozen, just adding a few extra minutes to the baking time. But I prefer to let them thaw a bit on the sheet pan before cooking – maybe 10-15 minutes. It seems to work better for me that way.

Then I remembered I had told my boss I’d probably bring in some cookies tomorrow, since he was kind enough to let me take off today. But these were for my kids, so I didn’t want to bake them and take them all in to work. Hmmm. It needed some thought.

After a bit, I remembered the leftover raspberry buttercream in the freezer, and I just love chocolate and raspberry together. Whoopie pies!!

I don’t really have a recipe to link to for the whoopie pies. It’s a box of cake mix (any flavor), a stick of melted butter, and two eggs. Mix thoroughly and bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes. I’ve made red velvet cookies and filled them with a cream cheese filling, so this was similar.

How about some pictures? A picture is worth a thousand words, they say.

Oatmeal raisin dough:

20120110-181550.jpg

20120110-181600.jpg

Chocolate chip dough (I like big hunks of chocolate!):

20120110-181606.jpg

Chocolate cookies for whoopie pies:

20120110-181612.jpg

Oatmeal raisin cookies:

20120110-181618.jpg

Chocolate chip cookies:

20120110-181626.jpg

And at the very top are the completed chocolate raspberry whoopie pies. So how did it all turn out? Lauren LOVED the oatmeal raisin cookies, but Sam didn’t love the new type of chocolate. Probably because it tasted very slightly different than he’s had before. The Boy is a creature of habit, he is.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A day off to bake

  1. Do you use a mini scoop? Or a melon ball thingy? They’re so pretty!

    • Yes, I have a set of cookie scoops in three different sizes – this was the smallest one. I like smaller cookies, most of the time. Using those makes it so much easier to have consistent cookies that bake evenly! They’re not expensive either, and dishwasher safe. I think I got them on Amazon.

