Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Pasta with bacon

20120210-181411.jpg

a.k.a. pasta carbonara

I’m sure I had a recipe at one point, but now I just wing it. I’m also not much for measuring, when it comes to cooking (vs. baking). Come along for the ride.

I start by mixing 2 eggs slightly, and adding about a cup of freshly shredded parmesan, along with some pepper. I don’t add salt, because parm is usually pretty salty itself. Set that mixture aside.

I bring a pot of water to a boil and add a healthy pinch of kosher salt. In the meantime, I cut up about 6 or 7 pieces of turkey bacon in a small dice. I also mince a few cloves of garlic. 2 or 4, depending on their size and how many garlic lovers are eating that night.

I preheat a skillet, add some olive oil and then the bacon. Stir frequently for about 6-7 minutes.

When the water boils, I add the pasta. Tonight it was bowtie, Lauren’s choice. Cook however long the package says.

Once the bacon is super crispy, I add the chopped garlic. Sometimes I remove some of the bacon and set it aside, so we have some crispy bits to garnish the pasta. Cook for about 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Because burned garlic is nasty. Add, oh, I don’t know, 3/4 cup of dry white wine, stir well, and reduce heat. Simmer, stirring occasionally.

Once the pasta is done, drain it, reserving about 1/4 cup of the cooking water. By this time, the wine/bacon/garlic mixture should have reduced some. Remove from heat and let cool slightly. Add the bacon mixture to the pasta, along with the egg mixture. Work quickly and stir a lot, because you don’t want scrambled eggs. If its too thick for your taste, add some or all of the reserved pasta water.

Serve with extra shredded parmesan, salt and pepper.

Quick, easy, and delicious.

20120210-182835.jpg

20120210-182845.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

