Jill's Place

A life in progress, spent mostly in the kitchen

Teriyaki chicken with fried rice and vegetables

20120328-171237.jpg

Recipe, such as it is, in a bit. Now, to eat!

OK, I’m back. It’s not so much a recipe as it is a “throw some stuff in a pan and see what happens” sort of a dish. I’m flexible in cooking, more precise in baking. I am also not opposed to using shortcuts, like Minute Rice.

In this case, I cut up a boneless skinless chicken breast into bite size chunks, since it was just my daughter and I eating dinner at home. I salted the pieces and set them aside to come to temp while I fixed a couple of cups of instant rice. In the microwave. Hey, when you’ve got a starving tween, sometimes you’re in a hurry. 😉

I preheated a sauté pan, added some peanut oil, and browned the chicken very well. Then I poured in some teriyaki sauce, stirred the chicken around, and turned the heat way down to keep it warm and reduce the sauce a bit.

In the meantime, I heated another, larger pan with high sides. More peanut oil, and then dumped in the rice, along with some onion powder, garlic powder, and fresh pepper. I let that cook for a bit, stirring occasionally. I added half a package of frozen stir fry vegetables, and let those warm through. I pushed the rice mixture to one side, and scrambled a couple of eggs in the pan. Mix it all together gently, and pour in some soy sauce, sesame seeds, the chicken and sauce, and a tiny bit of sesame oil (hoisin too, if you like – my kid didn’t like the smell, so I left it out).

Taste it, see if it needs anything, and voila! It took about 20 minutes total, and it was yummy.

No more pics because I only have two hands.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

